• Announcements

• admin

PBS Forum Has Closed   06/12/17

The PBS Works Support Forum is no longer active.  For PBS community-oriented questions and support, please join the discussion at http://community.pbspro.org.  Any new security advisories related to commercially-licensed products will be posted in the PBS User Area (https://secure.altair.com/UserArea/). 
mike

disk space for jobs

Hello,

Can you tell me if there is a "qmgr set queue" command that I can set to allow users to specify, in their jobs, how much local disk space is used per job? We have nodes where there is only a limited amount of available /tmp space, and we would like to have qmgr direct any job with a higher required disk space to another set of nodes, automatically. I'm fairly new to PBS and haven't been able to locate any information on this topic.

Thanks for your time,

Mike

Hi Mike, 

There is a way to customize PBS to schedule jobs based on available disk space. You could schedule based on dynamic host-level resources or static host-level resources. There are some advantages and disadvantages for the different ways to configure. Personally, I lean towards the static host-level resource option.

When a job requests a dynamic resource, PBS checks to see how much of the resource is available, but cannot know how much will be used by another job while this job executes. This can lead to a resource shortage. For example, there is 20GB of scratch on a disk, no jobs are running, and a job requests 15GB. This job writes 5GB during the first part of its execution, then another job requests 10GB. The second job is started by PBS, because there is 15GB available. Now there is a shortage of scratch space.

You can avoid this problem by configuring a static consumable resource to represent scratch space. Set it to the amount of available scratch space. 

I will provide you examples for both configurations while referencing the PBS Professional v12.2 Administrator Guide.