• Announcements

• admin

PBS Forum Has Closed   06/12/17

The PBS Works Support Forum is no longer active.  For PBS community-oriented questions and support, please join the discussion at http://community.pbspro.org.  Any new security advisories related to commercially-licensed products will be posted in the PBS User Area (https://secure.altair.com/UserArea/). 
Sign in to follow this  
tryer

Question

Hello,

I'm currently studying to use PBS Pro, i have read the user and administrator manual, but I still have some questions related to the possible configuration (i'm not very used to the jobs administration, and i didn't find french manual, so sorry if my questions look easy to answer, or stupid ;) )

First of all, i have understood "CPUs" in the manual is mainly used for "core" ? If i am wrong, please tell me :)

I wonder how PBS Pro uses the cores resource:

Let's say I have 1 machine with 4 cores. I have two kinds of processus on the machine, process H (heavy processus) and L (light processus, they treat some things, wait a long time for an answer, then stops). I have understood I can define 2 different queues, one for H jobs, one for L jobs.

- Is it possible to define that the L jobs must use only 1 core maximum ?

- And if yes, when the L processus are waiting (so very few CPU usage), can the H jobs use this core too ?

Indeed, i wouldn't want to have 1 core reserved for L jobs when they are inactive, whereas my other jobs could need this core

Thanks a lot,

and sorry for my english.

In general, the PBS resource ncpus does correspond to CPU cores. The pbs_mom detects the number of cores on a system and sets a default resources_available.ncpus value. This is almost always the best value to use, but it can be overridden if desired (though this is not true on certain systems where PBS has a deeper integration with the system, like on Cray systems or SGI systems using cpusets).

- Is it possible to define that the L jobs must use only 1 core maximum ?